Fixtures and how to watch on TV

Scotland rugby tour of Argentina 2022: when is it, how many matches are planned and how to watch. -AFP

Scotland’s tour of Argentina will come to an end after they defeated the Pumas in the second Test.

After losing the first Test 26-18, Scotland put on a much-improved performance with Hamish Watson, Mark Bennett, Matt Fagerson and Sam Johnson all hitting the target in their 29-6 victory in Salta.

How many tests are there?

It is a series of three Tests this month, with matches in San Salvador de Jujuy, Salta and Santiago del Estero.

What are the matches and the results?

First Test, Saturday July 2, San Salvador de Jujuy: Argentina 26 Scotland 18

Second Test, Saturday July 9, Salta 8:10 p.m.: Argentina 29 Scotland 6

Third Test, Saturday July 16, Santiago del Estero 8:10 p.m.

Santiago Carreras of Argentina smiles after scoring a try for his team during a test match between Argentina and Scotland at the Estadio 23 de Agosto on July 2, 2022 in Jujuy, Argentina.  - FALSE IMAGES

Santiago Carreras of Argentina smiles after scoring a try for his team during a test match between Argentina and Scotland at the Estadio 23 de Agosto on July 2, 2022 in Jujuy, Argentina. – FALSE IMAGES

What TV channel are the games on?

All three Tests will be broadcast live on Sky Sports in the UK. Alternatively, you can follow Telegraph Sport’s live coverage of all three matches.

Last News

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend gave Zander Fagerson his 50th cap eight years after the kit man made his professional debut at the age of 18.

The Glasgow player will reach his milestone when Scotland take on Argentina on Saturday in the decider of the summer tour in Santiago del Estero.

Townsend noted that Fagerson was “very young” to reach his half-century, four years younger than 30-year-old Hamish Watson who accomplished the same feat last week.

Glasgow full-back Ollie Smith will make his debut after replacing the injured Rory Hutchinson, who suffered a minor injury in Scotland’s 29-6 win last Saturday. However, the 21-year-old was already destined to start the Final Test.

“We have high expectations of Ollie because of the way he has been training and playing this season for Glasgow,” said the Scotland head coach. “He is one of our best workers in training, which is a real trait for a full-back, to be constantly on the move in attack and defence. He also has a good left boot which gives the opposition something to think about when you have a right kicker at 10. And he’s a very good attacker.

Townsend doesn’t have three injured backs in all. London Irish winger Kyle Rowe suffered a knee injury that will require specialist advice next week after coming off the bench on Saturday, and winger Darcy Graham has been ruled out with a late concussion.

Rufus McLean takes Graham’s place, while Sione Tuipulotu replaces Sam Johnson at inside center and scrum-half Ali Price is withdrawn.

Rory Sutherland and Ewan Ashman enter the front row, while Scott Cummings and Jonny Gray form a completely changed second row, with Edinburgh locking Glen Young in line for a debut off the bench. Flanker Watson will captain Scotland for the first time.

Injury-wracked Argentina have made 11 changes, including the blindside return of Pablo Matera as captain to lead the team after Pablo Montoya was ruled out. Agustin Creevy takes Montoya’s place on the front row, the 37-year-old’s first Test start in nearly three years.

The teams for the decider

Argentina Juan Cruz Mallia; Bautista Delguy, Matías Orlando, Matías Moroni, Emiliano Boffelli; Santiago Carreras, Lautaro Bazán Vélez; Thomas Gallo, Agustín Creevy, Joel Sclavi, Guido Petti, Tomás Lavanini, Pablo Matera (captain), Santiago Grondona, Facundo Isa.
replacements Ignacio Ruiz, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Francisco Gómez Kodela, Marcos Kremer, Juan Martín González Samso, Gonzalo Bertranou, Tomás Albornoz, Lucio Cinti.

Scotland Ollie Smith; Rufus McLean, Mark Bennett, Sione Tuipulotu, Duhan van der Merwe; Blair Kinghorn, Ali Price; Rory Sutherland, Ewan Ashman, Zander Fagerson, Scott Cummings, Jonny Gray, Rory Darge, Hamish Watson (Captain), Matt Fagerson.
Replacements: Dave Cherry, Pierre Schoeman, Javan Sebastian, Glen Young, Andy Christie, George Horne, Ross Thompson, Sam Johnson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.